Annual Back to School Rally Is a Tweet Success

Every August, before the first day of school, District 7 rolls out the red carpet to welcome faculty and staff back for another year. The annual 7Shares convocation is part pep-rally, part part-professional development and part- good ol’ fashioned fun. Filling the gym at Spartanburg High School, more than 1200 employees from all 14 schools in the District gathered together on Monday, August 14 to meet and mingle with one another, to engage in professional learning opportunities and to share their hopes and goals for the new school year.
Greeted with a rousing welcome from Superintendent Russell Booker and a shout-out for every school in the District, the crowd was also treated to a fabulous performance by Spartanburg High School’s glee club students who call themselves, The Corporation. To add to the fun and fuel excitement about the first day of school on Thursday, August 17 – teachers in the audience seized the power of social media to highlight the day’s happenings. From one Tweet to another, the D7 team took to the airwaves to shares smiles, salute students and celebrate community.
The program concluded with the announcement of the 2017-18 District 7 Crystal Apple Award recipient and the District 7 Teacher of the Year. The Crystal Apple Award is a meaningful tradition in D7 and an opportunity to applaud the work of our first-year teachers. The 2017-18 District 7 Crystal Apple Award recipient is Caroline Pruitt, Special Education Teacher form Chapman Elementary School and the 2017-18 District Teacher of the Year, the best of the best, is Dr. Vernon Weygandt, Band Director from McCracken Middle School.

Our Crystal Apple honorees are: The Early Learning Center, Kimberly Henerey; Chapman Elementary, Caroline Pruitt; Cleveland Academy of Leadership, Victoria Brewton; Houston Elementary, Peyton Allen; Mary H. Wright, Lindsey Singleton; E.P. Todd School, Hannah Bonetti; Carver Middle, James Anderson; McCracken Middle, Katherine Weaver, Spartanburg High; Katie Cockrell; and Whitlock Flexible Learning Center, Dean Ousley.
Our Teachers of the Year are: The Early Learning Center, Sarah Poole; Jesse Boyd, Kimberly Alverson; Chapman Elementary, Abigail Briggs; Cleveland Academy, LaGinia Dove; Houston Elementary, Shanita Wallace; Mary H. Wright, Kristy Turner; Pine Street, April Volk; E.P. Todd, Ashley Freeman; Carver Middle, Stephanie Barrett; McCracken Middle, Dr. Vernon Weygandt; Spartanburg High School, Carmilla Williams; Whitlock Flex Center, Dr. Viola Lewis; McCarthy Teszler School, Martha McNeely.

Page Rendered in: 2.7647 sec. for IP: on Wednesday, April 25th, 2018 @ 10:28 PM  |  Total Queries: 213  |  GZIP: enabled  |  GID: 3