District 7 Celebrates School Board Members

Spartanburg County School District 7 joins with other districts throughout the state to recognize the important contributions school board members make to their communities. The South Carolina School Boards Association is celebrating “School Board Recognition Month” in January 2017 to build awareness and understanding of the vital function a local board of education plays in our society. The theme — School Boards Stand Up 4 SC Public Schools – reinforces the unique role school boards play in promoting and advocating for quality education and the ownership they take for governing their local public schools. As the elected/appointed representatives of the people in their local communities, they represent their local communities’ voice and vision for their public schools.
Our community benefits every day from the dedicated energies and countless hours devoted by the nine men and women who serve on the District 7 School Board. We salute Mrs. Meg Clayton, Mr. Vernon Beatty, Mr. Rick Gray, Mr. Andy Hayes, Mr. Sanders Lee, Mrs. Julie Lonon, Mr. Clay Mahaffey, Ms. Sharon Porter, and Dr. Ernest White. All nine members unselfishly contribute their time and talents toward the advancement of public education, and represent a continuing commitment to local citizen control and decision-making in education.
Superintendent Dr. Russell Booker took a few moments to applaud the Board and commend their dedication to public education during the first meeting of the new year. “If you add up the years of service among our Trustees,” said Booker, “they share well over a century of commitment to this community. While the efforts of a school board often go unrecognized, our Board is the governing body of this school system. Our Trustees develop policies and make tough decisions on complex educational and social issues. They bear responsibility for an annual budget of $67M, 7200 students, 1200 employees and more than a dozen facilities. District 7 has long been fortunate to enjoy the leadership of dedicated men and women who go above and beyond to care about our children and the strength of our schools.”
As part of School Board Recognition Month, Chief Communications Officer Sally Hammond said, board members signed a South Carolina School Board Member Ethical Principles plaque. “This document affirms the Board’s vow to uphold effective governance principles and to improve public education in District 7. The signing ceremony will take place in school board meetings throughout the state this month, underscoring the considerable investment being made by the more than 600 elected and appointed school board members in South Carolina.”
The District honored Board Member, Vernon Beatty for 25 years of service to Spartanburg District 7 and new member Clay Mahaffey for attaining Level 1 Certification from the South Carolina School Board Association’s Boardmanship Institute. The Institute offers members a year-round training curriculum focused on leadership skills and state and national educational issues. There are 6 levels of training recognized by the SCSBA. In saluting Mr. Beatty’s service, Hammond said “only 14 veteran board members throughout the state are being distinguished this year for serving their school system for 20 years or more.”
Even though we are making a special effort during January to show appreciation to our school board members, we recognize their contributions reflect a year-round commitment on their part.

School Board

back: Andy Hayes, Clay Mahaffey, Sanders Lee, Vernon Beatty
front: Rick Gray, Meg Clayton,Julie Lonon, Sharon Porter, Ernest White

Page Rendered in: 2.7315 sec. for IP: on Saturday, April 21st, 2018 @ 04:30 AM  |  Total Queries: 213  |  GZIP: enabled  |  GID: 3