Terrific Kids Announced

Students representing elementary schools from across Spartanburg County were recognized for their good character and citizenship Thursday morning at the Kiwanis Club’s 25th annual Terrific Kid of the Year luncheon. The honorees from Spartanburg School District 7 are: Strawberry Cansler, The Early Learning Center; Larissa Ferretiz, Chapman Elementary; Hayden Scott Jones, Cleveland Academy of Leadership; Nathaly Hansana, E. P. Todd School; Janiya Glover, Houston Elementary; Nadia Ferguson, Jesse Boyd Elementary; Angel MyAsha McClintock, Mary H. Wright Elementary; Joseph Latham, Pine Street School; Spencer Haguewood, McCarthy-Teszler Elementary; Hunter Lida, McCarthy-Teszler Teszler Division; and Matthew McMillian, McCarthy-Teszler Secondary Division.
The students were presented with a Terrific Kids plaque, a certificate signed by Governor Nikki Haley and a T-shirt. Congressman Trey Gowdy served as the keynote speaker.
Terrific Kids is a student recognition program, sponsored by the Kiwanis Club of Spartanburg that promotes character development, self-esteem, and perseverance. “Terrific” is an acronym for Thoughtful, Enthusiastic, Respectful, Responsible, Inclusive, Friendly, Inquisitive and Capable.

The Terrific Kids from the district’s elementary schools are shown here with Superintendent Russell Booker.

The Terrific Kids from the McCarthy Teszler School are shown here with Principal Cheryl Revels and Dr. Booker.

Page Rendered in: 3.6862 sec. for IP: on Wednesday, January 24th, 2018 @ 12:15 AM  |  Total Queries: 215  |  GZIP: enabled  |  GID: 3